2002-05-21 - 3:32 a.m.

A Solution

Sweeting--

Having left the Nereid to her moss-harvesting and dewharp playing with a fond, if damp, kiss, I launched once more on the path homeward, thinking all the while of just what I have over which you might spread that delicious honey. Whilst lost is said musings, I tripped over the hookah-hose of the Caterpillar and went sprawling at his many feet! I apologised and rearranged my hair, which had become quite dusty with japanese mushrooms. That day, I happened to be checking in at approximately ten inches, and so was quite a lot taller than my fumy friend, but not pushing at the treetops by any means. Since I was at what he termed a "respectable height," he offered me a bread-and-butter fly to suck on while he packed another circlet of tobacco (cherry-linoleum flavour) into the hookah, which was shining with particular elegance in the fine morning light.

We had a lovely talk, and a lovelier smoke, discussing momerath maintenance and the whereabout of that dastardly Walrus, amid debate on the relative merits of Queenship as oppose to independant outgrabing. It turns out that the darling Caterpillar has a large collection of daffodil phonographs, and we treated ourselves to a very passable floral concert. The air itself vibrated yellow and gold. Oddly enough, however, as he placed the needle on the licorice-record, he hurried to conceal a coil of ribbons from young girls lead astray by his dialectic and hypnotic gaze, but I saw them before he could heave a coil of azure segmentation over the pink mass. I must say, they were not very clever girls. The Caterpillar is charming, but hardly the most charming in Wonderland. That distinction, as ever, must go to yourself, my most precious monster. I consider myself superior to them in every way, and should not take tea with them, even if asked nicely with a gold-engraved invitation. They are silly, and deserved their cerulean fate, though I cannot be entirely certain what exactly my dear friend has done with them, besides nicking their ribbons.

I hope that, considering how often and severely I have been delayed, you will ruminate and decide to come and join me here on the Toadstools. We have plenty of oysters and beetle-rocking horsefly pies, as well as a nice roasted Jubjub bird. Of course, the Caterpillar will bring out his special cinnamon-Spanish moss tobacco for the occasion, if you would grace us with your emerald-clawed presence. We await. I remain your devoted

Alice

<< anciens >>

d*land.profile.notes