2002-05-14 - 3:15 p.m.

Events at the Waterfall

Darling--

I know my tardiness is beginning to border upon the downright rude. I am humble, I grovel, I apologise. But it is not my fault! I cannot help it if I am detained so...

I arrived at the Waterfall without too much mischeif, barring the occasional race with the Red Queen and the White Knight simply had to show me his latest invention. (It looked much like an eggbeater, but I was assured that it was, in fact, an automated hoof cleaner) These things are everyday, I hardly think of them as detours any longer. As I was saying, I arrived at the Waterfall, which was quite lovely, with rose gold water strewn with lemonapple blossoms and cobalt skipping-stones all about, each carved with poetry. I began to peel off my dress, which was quite wretched by now, and as I stood there in my shift, thigh-deep in the water, rubbing the blue fabric against a flat stone to remove the last of the tea-stains, looking up at the perfect cerulean sky and lattice of trees, a rather perfect cerulean head emerged from the foam and there I was face to face with the kelp-tressed Nereid!

Or so I thought. After I had sputtered and gasped under her beautiful gaze, I turned to run out of the pool, and tripped on the sash of my dress, falling with a resounding splash into the arms of the sprite. I hastily told her that I was late for dinner and could not possibly be detained longer, and in any case, was no Prince or Princess of any kind, and so obviously could be of no interest to her. She hesitantly touched the hem of my shift and explained that she was the daughter of the famous Nereid and her Princess, and that everyone who came to her Waterfall was so frightened that she would drown them as her mother had submerged the unfortunate Prince, that she never had any company, and was rather sad. "They all tell such frightful stories about me,"she sniffed, and began to play with the glittering ends of her emerald hair.

She was so very pretty, my dear, and so lonesome.

And so...ahem...I believe I shall be even later for dinner than expected.

Shamefacedly,
Alice

<< anciens >>

d*land.profile.notes