2003-01-18 - 3:31 p.m.

Memorandum

Heart of my heart--

Oh, darling, take me with you! How can I sit among the broken tea cups of our house and twiddle my little thumbs while you are gone? Just when I have returned to our halls and hat-racks, our china cabinets and bannisters, you are off like my apron and leave me holding the licorice candlesticks. It is so quiet here without you. The clock strikes its twenty-seven hours and rock salt tumbles from the pendulum as it always did, but you are not there to gobble the little white jewels as they fall.

Come home, my scarlet-scaled angel, or I shall not stay to wait. I shall wander out again. Perhaps I shall go to see the Gryffon in his nest, or the Duchess in her house, or even return to the Queens' doubly fierce embrace, and you shall not see me again unless you burn down all the forest with your breath! I am quite cross, since you have forgotten me like a pair of socks in the closet. I shall run away and you shall never find me!

Stubbornly,
Alice

<< anciens >>

d*land.profile.notes