2002-09-14 - 6:56 p.m.

The Jabberwock Blusters.

Alice, Sweetling, Turtledove...

When I think of you, running below my surfaces, crouching in my crevices, creeping under my staircaes and darting furtively through my vasty halls, it makes my scales turn scarlet and I'm afraid my grumpish glowering frightens the Dormouse to take flight amid the tea cups. Not that that is odd, particularily.

But I asked him if you were hiding in there, and he shook is scared little whiskers no. I sighed out to the terrace, unconsolable, turning your hat in my hand and your letter in my mind, blowing smoke signals in the shapes of seagulls and sailing ships off towards Narnia. Here I am, one more crystal year speeding the beats of my nine-chambered heart and the pounding echoes emptily on the breeze. Here I am, I said.

You are right to call yourself a very silly girl, for where should I wear my grandeur save in expectation of you? You are my little Jackie Paper, my Clara, my Emily.

I can only attribute my relative docility to the mint-leaf wine, and the suspicion that somewhere in my stupor, I felt your small attentions, post noctem, in slumber.

The Duchess is in hiding, even Christian won't come near. I suppose that I will stop feeling sorry for myself and /leave/ this place, with it's nooks and it's crannies, and, for that, it's terrible emptinesses, and have a holiday. Somewhere in the Snows, or in Summer, or anywhere else whereI can turn my head three-hundred-and-sixty degrees and have everything spread out before me. Plain Sight, my luckstone, that is what I crave. A stone to roar upon, and all of the sun in the sky.

No more of these shades and shadows for me! I am going away.

You may have the keeping of my halls, poppet, pet-ling, and my library, and of making sure that all the timid, tiny ones (oh, and they are so much more small and scared than you could imagine) do not get swindled or stepped on by that oafish, obscene Walrus, if you would. I'd entrust it to Christian, but he's far too... je ne sais pas, timid? Un-clever? Alors.

And, er, you will write, won't you?

In Essence,

~Jabberwocky.

<< anciens >>

d*land.profile.notes