2002-06-13 - 9:25 a.m.

The Jabberwock makes a frabjous Lochinvar.

you sleep now, my darling, secure in a blanket of my shed scales and feathers, curled up in my coils. You are breathing airs from the late-night waltz in your slumbrous voice, and your mouth curls prettily as you do it. I am half-coiled and half stretched out rumblingly here on the cool porch on the summer side of the castle with my great carved pipe and your cherry tobacco, gloating-- yes, my daffodil-- glaoting rumblingly over the sheerness of my might.

I do this now, my cherub, for were you awake to witness my narcissism you'd pop me on the shout with a dandilion or a snapdragon (with their ever-so annoying stinging claws!) and tell me not to be such a big puffed-up silly.

But oh! Was I not fine, swooping in with my newest admantium-and-lapis doublet and that annoying old knight's er, misplaced vorpal sword dangling from my waist, high-heels borrowed from Christian (we STILL haven't found the goddamn gown! I am so going through rhinestone-withdrawal), rubyfruit hose and Humming an air from Berlioz' Faust with diabolical purpose. And didn't that rediculous catepillar become all knotted up in his many feet! Fumbling with his bloated-gourd of a hookah and coughing up clouds of noxious poppy smoke in confused explicative symbols while I, the Beast Resplendant, did decend and roar fit to propel a boat with billowed sails all the way back home to Haunnalee.

And you, my gemstone, my daisy-chain, you fecklessly swung up onto my neck and siezed ahold of my tortiose-shell glasses-chain, and, a final tantalizing couplet tumbling from your lips, bid me rise. And you rode me through the wind, through the forests of tree roots knotted and anchored in the sky, until we galumphed down in my courtyard, flushed and giggling and merry. Christian fixed us cordials and quail before he slunk away, and we laughed and danced and told fortunes with pieces of string until you balled up and slumbered, here, where you are now, my cotton-boll, my vegetable lamb.

You told me in my fortune that I would go to places my wings got cramps just thinking about, and be more wonderfully lost than I had ever been.

Hmmm. I rumble and smoke, and watch you dreaming and smiling; in the land where the waltz does not end and we never have to ice our feet or sacrifice comfort for fashion.

I lower my great head to rest alongside you, blowing through my tusky jaws, and seek to join you there.

<< anciens >>

d*land.profile.notes